A couple of years ago, I said I would never give keynotes on government 2.0. I pretty much sticked to my promise, and all the subsequent speeches were always linked to an interactive session, such as co-designing, prototyping, or others.

Another way to do “more than a keynote”, and even more than a co-design session, is to create templates and checklists. To create processes.

It’s not that I planned it so. A process or template simply emerged out of the discussion. I had to explain again and again what is government 2.0, and how to build a project so that it’s 2.0 and not simply e-government. After the third time, I saw a pattern > a template. And I blogged about it.

Then with the organisers (great people from UNDP) we thought that it would be great to have more than a process: a product. We made this infographic then, which is designed to explain to the “non-converted” what concretely is an open government project.

It distills a lot of my experience and thoughts on the matter. Obviously, it is a simplification, designed as a didactic tool for non experts. Ideally, it would be placed on the wall of every public administration office, as an inspiration. It’s not rocket science. Although I’m quite happy with the insight provided by step 3 and 4. Step 2 build on the idea of 6 things citizens can offer to government; step 3 refers to the “steps of engagement“; step 4 to the evaluation framework developed within Crossover.

What do you think?

 

Untitled