In the context of the collaborative Gdansk roadmap, I have been thinking about ways to measure the success or failure of such online engagement initiatives.

Any success has to be measured against the stated objectives. When I organize similar initiatives (and I start to have quite a few) I have a scale of objectives, from the most basic (tools that workk smoothly) to the most advanced (receiving good input from interesting people).

Scale of engagementSo I thought about a corresponding list of indicators.

  1. Avoid technical hiccups: number of complaints; degree of innovation (from mature to world first implementation)
  2. Ensure takeup: number of contributions, number of contributors
  3. No spam: number of spam comments
  4. Ensure high quality content: % of contributions judged as useful; % of new contributors (previously not engaged)

What do you think? Is this a good first list?