Today I gave a presentation at Microsoft Social Computing event, and I would like to elaborate on this.

I think that international trade theory, mentioned in my previous post, could prove very useful for analysing the situation of social computing and big data in the EU.

I will elaborate on that in a series of post, starting from the basic ideas:

– because of the lack of strong EU social networks, the large majority of personal data published by European citizens on social networks is now owned by the US

– the US own the “social personal data” of EU citizens and builds on top of it value added services, which resells to Europeans – not only social networking but also advertising

– this is a positive feedback loop where more data drive to better services, so the EU-US gap is likely to grow

What do you think?