I have been invited to give a speech in South Africa. They asked for my tutorial at the Lisbon conferece, but I will make some changes. In particular, I wrote several times about how the new vision of egov2.0 is very much suited to the Anglo-Saxon contest (UK, US, New Zealand…). A former colleague at the EC went so far to say that it was ONLY relevant there.
My perception is that web2.0 is very relevant for developing countries as well. In particular, the key impact I see is on fighting corruption. We have seen examples in Romania, Bulgaria, Hungary, of web2 tools being used to encourage citizens to denounce corruption of public officials.
What other impacts can web2.0 have in young democracies and/or developing countries?
Probably the people at the World Bank PSD have interesting views on that.